Search This Blog

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Secretary Merrill Certifies 2012 Election Results; Releases Statewide Voter Turnout Figure of 74% of Registered Voters; Wallingford registers in at nearly 82% turnout


25,759 Names on the active voter list

21,105 Number checked as having voted

81.93% Percentage checked as having voted

2,025  Number of absentee ballots received by the Wallingford Town Clerk

35     Number of absentee ballots rejected

1,990  Number of absentee ballots voted

Hartford: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today officially certified the results of the 2012 General Election on November 6th for Presidential electors and the offices of United States Senator, Representative in Congress, and Connecticut General Assembly. According to Connecticut General Statute 9-315, the Secretary of the State, together with the State Treasurer and the State Comptroller, must “declare what persons are elected” on the last Wednesday of the month of election.  A complete list of those election results is attached to this news release.  Secretary Merrill is also reporting that the 2012 general election saw a participation in the form of turnout by nearly 74% of registered voters in Connecticut(73.77%).  The figure is slightly lower than the 2008 presidential election turnout figure of 78.14% in the state, but places Connecticut at 7th highest state in the nation for voter turnout among registered voters in 2012. 

“Despite the challenges we faced following Hurricane Sandy, Connecticut voters came to the polls with a very strong turnout on Election Day,” said Secretary Merrill.  “By certifying these election results, we are officially putting into the record books the final word on one of the more exciting and historic elections in the history of our state.  Overall, I commend the hard work done by local election administrators and poll workers to make sure the election ran as smoothly as it did.”

Overall, Democrats Barack Obama and Joe Biden won the Presidential vote in Connecticut and Democrat Christopher Murphy was elected to represent Connecticut in the United States Senate.  Democrats John Larson(CT-1), Joe Courtney(CT-2), Rosa DeLauro(CT-3), Jim Himes(CT-4), and Elizabeth Esty(CT-5) were also elected to the 113th Congress of the United States.  In the Connecticut General Assembly, Democratic candidates were elected to 99 seats in the State House of Representatives and 22 seats in the State Senate.  Republican candidates were elected to 52 seats in the House of Representatives and 14 seats in the State Senate. 

A full Statement of the Vote including final vote tallies for candidates for President of the United States, U.S. Senator, Members of Congress, General Assembly, and Registrars of Voters by town, county, Congressional District and Legislative District will be published by the beginning of the General Assembly’s 2013 legislative session in January. 

In Connecticut, 74% of registered voters cast ballots on November 6, 2012.  That includes more than 1,524,339 Connecticut voters who cast ballots on Election Day out of 2,066,260 registered voters.  This statewide turnout figure does not include voter turnout results from the town of Prospect, which as of today has still not reported voter turnout figures as part of their 2012 election returns to the Secretary of the State’s office as required by state law.

Secretary Merrill today also launched an unprecedented voter feedback line and is asking voters for their impressions of elections in Connecticut by email to the address:

Top 10 municipalities in CT for Voter Turnout in 2012 (as a percentage of registered voters):

  1. Bridgewater – 94.75%
  2. Middletown – 89.86%
  3. Ridgefield – 89.42%
  4. Washington – 88.35%
  5. Woodbridge – 86.94%
  6. Granby – 86.22%
  7. Bolton – 86.20%
  8. Roxbury – 85.92%
  9. Wilton – 85.57%
  10. Killingworth – 85.35%

State                       2012 Voter Turnout % *

1. Minnesota                   88.62%

2. Wisconsin                    83.14%

3. New Hampshire          78.14%

4. Washington                 77.13%

5. Oregon                        76.25%

6. Maine                          74.31%

7. Connecticut              73.77%

8. Iowa                             71.67%

9. Massachusetts            70.88%

10.  Florida                      70.04%

*estimated based on state and media reports

Wallingford Democratic Town Committee Meeting


Wallingford Democratic Town Committee Meeting

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Time: 7:00pm 
350 Center Street
Wallingford, CT

Meeting Agenda

    • Roll Call
    • Acceptance of Meeting Minutes
    • Treasurer's Report
    • Chairman's Report
    • Local Government Reports
    • Announcements / Open Discussion
    •          Jason Zandri will address the DTC Members
    • Adjournment

Season of Celebrations - SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

As originally provided on the Town of Wallingford Website

Saturday, December 1
1:00 PM – 6:00 PM

Wallingford Town Hall
45 South Main Street 
Wallingford, CT 06492
Driving Directions


Location: Town Hall

Visits with Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus

1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Toy Collection
by Yalesville Volunteer Fire Department
1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Petting Zoo
with Adorable Animals
1:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Hot Cocoa and Cookies

1:30 p.m. (While They Last)

Photo Booth Pictures
by Show Stopper Entertainment
Sponsored by Wallingford Center, Inc.
2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Horse and Carriage Rides

Rides originate in front of Town Hall.
2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Yankee Chorus Sings Holiday Carols

2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Chestnuts Roasted on an Open Fire

Little Portion Acres
2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Frosty Parade

Led by DJ Lou Ferraro, Frosty and Rudolph, the parade will proceed from Town Hall down Center Street to Johanna Fishbein Park. 5:15 p.m.


Location: Johanna Fishbein Park

Holiday Carols at the Gazebo
by the Wallingford Chorus

Reading of “’Twas the Night Before Christmas”
by Mayor William Dickinson, Jr. 5:30 p.m.

Lighting of the Tree

Led by Mr. Joseph Archer and Children, generous donors of the tree. 5:50 p.m.

Free to Children of All Ages

Sponsored by Wallingford Public Celebrations Committee and Wallingford Center, Inc.

Thanks to the Department of Police Services, Department of Public Works, Edson Sea Cadets, Lyman Hall High School Key Club, Choate Rosemary Hall School, White Way Laundry, Mark Gingras, McDonald’s Restaurant and our elves and soldiers.