Search This Blog

Thursday, August 2, 2012

It's Time to Register for the August 14th Primaries

Denise Merrill
Secretary of the State
Merrill: Voter Registration Deadlines for August 14th Primaries Fast Approaching
Secretary of the State Reminds Eligible Voters Who Want to Cast a Primary Ballot they Have One Week to Register as Democrats or Republicans by Mail

Hartford:  Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today is reminding eligible voters who want to cast a ballot in the upcoming statewide primaries on August 14, 2012 that voter registration deadlines are fast approaching.  Anyone wishing to cast a ballot on August 14th must register as a Democrat or a Republican by Monday, August 13th in-person at their town offices. Mail in registration forms must be received no later than Thursday August 9th in order to be processed before the primaries. Also, registration forms delivered to town offices by anyone other than the voter must be turned in no later than August 9th in order for those voters to be eligible to cast primary ballots.  Voters can check online at to see if they are registered to vote and where their polling place is located, as well as download voter registration forms and applications for absentee ballots.  Absentee ballots for the primary are available now and will be counted as long as they are received by town clerks by 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday August 14th.

“The 2012 Statewide Primary Elections are rapidly approaching on Tuesday, August 14th,” said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut’s chief elections official. “I am reminding all eligible, non-registered voters to register either in person or by mail so they can take part in deciding the candidates for the November General Elections. Come out to the polls and let your voice be heard!  Only registered Democrats and Republicans can vote, so if you are unaffiliated you must enroll with a major party by Monday August 13th at noon in order to cast a primary ballot.”

Nearly 2,000,000 Connecticut citizens are registered to vote. Almost 50,000 voters are newly registered since January 1st, 2012.  In that same time, more than 6,100 unaffiliated voters have registered with a major party to be eligible to vote in the primaries, with 3,407 becoming Democrats and 2,705 affiliating as Republicans.  More than 2,500 17 year-old voters have also registered to vote so far this year, and are eligible to vote in the statewide primary so long as they will turn 18 by the November 6th general election.  Polls will be open statewide for Registered Democrats and Republicans on Tuesday August 14, 2012 from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

The list of at least 24 primaries taking place in the state of Connecticut can be found below (endorsed candidates are indicated by *):




United States Senator
*Linda E. McMahon

Christopher Shays

United States Senator
*Christopher S. Murphy

Susan Bysiewicz

Representative in Congress – 2
*Paul M. Formica

Daria Novack

Representative in Congress – 5
*Andrew Roraback

Justin Bernier

Lisa Wilson Foley

Mark Greenberg

Representative in Congress – 5
*Chris Donovan

Elizabeth Esty

Dan Roberti

State Senate – 19
*Tom Reynolds

Catherine A. Osten

State Senate – 23
*Ernest E. Newton II

Andres Ayala, Jr.

Edwin A. Gomes

State Senate – 33
*James Crawford

Mary Ellen Klinck

Assembly District – 3
*Minnie Gonzalez

Victor M. Luna, Jr.

Assembly District – 5
*Leo Canty

Brandon McGee

Donald Trinks

Assembly District – 6
*Edwin Vargas, Jr.

Hector Luis Robles

Assembly District – 13
*Joe Diminico

Tom Gullotta

Assembly District – 35
*Tom Vicino

Tony A. Palermo

Assembly District – 58
*Kathy Tallarita

David Alexander

Assembly District – 63
*Michael J. Renzullo

Doug Bendetto

Assembly District – 75
*Victor Cuevas

Davis Aldarondo

Assembly District – 91
*John P. Flanagan

Michael C. D’Agostino

Assembly District – 107
*Harold A. Shaker

David A. Scribner

Assembly District – 116
*Louis P. Esposito, Jr.

David C. Forsyth

Assembly District - 128
*Christina M. Ayala

Angel Reyes

Assembly District – 132
*Sue Brand

Kevin Coyner

Hamden – Bethany Probate District
*Craig B. Henrici

Edward C. Burt, Jr.

Registrar of Voters - Hartford
*Salvatore A. Bramante

Nyesha C. McCauley

Registrar of Voters – Hartford
*Ramon L. Arroyo

Olga Iris Vazquez

Av Harris
Director of Communications
Connecticut Secretary of the State Denise Merrill
(860) 509-6255 ofc
(860) 463-5939 cell

No comments:

Post a Comment